Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner?

Hyun Soo: Hello, and thank you all for coming to my house for dinner.

Everyone except Hyun Soo: You’re welcome. We thank you for inviting us.

Hyun Soo: So Fagan, I want to ask you, why were you sad in grief when the stranger (prophet) died by your dad?

Fagan: Well, first of all, I was angry at myself and my dad for not protecting the stranger. It’s not a problem now since his back alive, and also, I was starting to believe the stranger. I thought what the prophet said about the true Sin Eater was true, so I was sad when I thought ‘now I can’t be saved by the true Sin Eater’. That was why I started to cry in grief. But now I’m fine because I accepted Jesus, and I am baptized.

Hyun Soo: Thank you for the answer Fagan. So, Prophet, I want to ask you, why weren’t you scared when Fagan’s dad was coming?

Prophet: Like I said, ‘Do not fear the one who can kill my body, but the one who can destroy the soul’, I was not afraid of human. Also, I wanted to save the people of this village, and in order to do that, I knew the one with power must be saved first. So I stood firmly and told Kai ‘repent and be saved’, which he didn’t believe at first and beat me up to death.

Hyun Soo: Thank you for your response. Back to you Fagan, when you saw the prophet getting beaten up, and hear your dad say, ‘so much for the power of his God’, did you start to believe that the prophet was lying?

Fagan: I didn’t know why God didn’t help the prophet when he was getting beaten up, but I still believed in what he said. That is why I shouted to my dad that I hate him and I hate to be his son. I thought my brothers will try to protect me at least a little bit, which they didn’t.

Hyun Soo: Thank you for the honest reply. So prophet, when you were almost dead, you told Cadi to ‘remember’, what does that mean?

Prophet: I didn’t want to give up spreading the word of God even after death to the village. I somewhat knew Cadi will do a good job spreading what happened that day, spreading the love of God. So that’s why I wanted Cadi to remember what I told her and tell the word of God to the village.

Hyun Soo: Oh, thank you for explaining what that meant. Mr. Forbes? Mr. Forbes? Please wake up; I have a question to ask.

Mr. Forbes: Oh I’m sorry that I felt asleep. So what is the question?

Hyun Soo: No, I’m sorry that I didn’t ask you any questions. So, why did you want Cadi to stay away from the stranger when you talked with Kai and his two older sons?

Mr. Forbes: First of all, Kai told me he was mad, saying what the village should do. I had no choice but to believe Kai and his ways for the village.

Hyun Soo: Oh ok, and how did you respond when Fia asked what Kai told you?

Mr. Forbes: I told her a crazy outsider came saying we need redemption. When Fia asked me ‘what’s the harm of letting him in our village if he does no harm’, I had nothing to say other than say there is not enough room at the village. I had no choice but to believe in Kai’s ways. And I didn’t want to talk against Kai, so I told Fia not to talk against Kai too.

Hyun Soo: What was Fia talking about when she said, ‘they did what he wanted, dinna they? And now we’re cursed for it!’?

Mr. Forbes: She was talking about the first time our ancestors came to this village, killing all the natives and stealing this land. She thought we were cursed for that and also cursed for following Kai’s ways. By cursed, she meant the death of our 3 children out of five. And the death of Elen was what made her so sad.

Hyun Soo: Thank you for answering my questions. Now back to Fagan. Fagan, where did you get the courage to gather all the people and tell the villagers about the truth?

Fagan: I thought it was about time to reveal the truth. I wanted to tell the villagers that the sin eater we had before, which is Sim, is not real. I wanted to tell the villagers Sim was just chosen because of the things the Kai’s family had done to the natives at this village. Sim was just chosen because the Kai’s were afraid of what they had done to the natives, which is killing them all and taking over the village. Also, Kai chose Sim because the girl who Kai loves loves Sim, and he was jealous. Also, I wanted to tell the villagers that Jesus is the one who was nailed to the cross and died for us, taking our sins away.

Hyun soo: Ok. So prophet, did you think Cadi Forbes and Fagan did a good job of spreading the word of God?

Prophet: Yes I do. First of all, the truth is revealed that the sin eater is not true. And also, people began to believe in Jesus gradually as Kai’s secrets were revealed. Also, I want to personally thank Sim to decide to tell the villagers that all he did was eat bread and drink wine, doing an empty ceremony. Despite of his years of being a sin eater, it would be hard to accept that he did ceremonies that didn’t do anything. But still, he came to the villagers and told them he accomplished nothing. I am so happy that most of the villagers were baptized and turned themselves to God.

Hyun Soo: I see. It is good to hear everyone is saved. I really appreciate you guys for coming to my house. I enjoyed a lot talking to you guys. I hope to invite you guys again to talk more about the work of God.

Everyone except Hyun Soo: We also had so much fun. Now we’ll get going. See you next time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner?

  1. josteiny1214 says:

    Love your story it really kept me interested the whole way through
    I love how you implied you characters thoroughly

  2. Nik O. says:

    Very interesting narrative, creatively telling a story within a story.
    However, I should think that the conversations are to take place within quotation marks.
    All in all, it is a rather good essay.

Leave a comment